Band and Choir Christmas Concert – December 17th

The Assumption choirs and bands will present its Christmas Concert this Sunday, December 17th at 3:00 p.m. in Sunderbruch Auditorium at Assumption High School.  Let us help put you in both a festive and Christ centered mood as Christmas approaches.  There will be no charge for admission, but free-will donations are gladly accepted.

Music Boosters

The Music Boosters will be holding a meeting this Thursday, November 9th at 6:00 PM in the Choir Room.  Mr. Craig and Mrs. Murphy will also be in attendance to discuss the current state of fundraising.


Choir Concert at St. Anthony’s

The Assumption Choir entertained a large crowd at their fall concert on Tuesday, October 17, 2017.  The program was held at St. Anthony’s Catholic Church and first featured six students auditioning for the Iowa All-State Chorus.  The full concert choir then performed 5 full-length pieces.  Great job to Mr. Loes and the AHS Choir!

Singfest Participants

Congratulations to 8 freshmen choir students who participated in the Singfest Honor Choir at Central College in Pella on October 3rd.  Those students include Amanda Herrington, Anita Ngo, Annette Baker, Yuliana Marceleno, Sean Thompson and McKayne Morrison.

Music Department Presents Awards to 2017 Seniors

The band, under the direction of Mrs. Erin Mahr, held its final concert of the year on May 16 and awards were presented to four seniors. The John Philip Sousa Award was presented to Mary Jacobsen, while the Louis Armstrong Jazz Award was given to Emma Gradin, and the Semper Fidelis Award went to Emma Baldwin. The Band nominee for the Fine Arts Hall of Fame was Jonathan Underwood.

The choir, led by Mr. Trevor Loes, held its final concert on May 10 at St. Anthony’s in Davenport. The concert featured pieces learned throughout the year and awards were presented to three seniors. Emily Lemons was awarded the U.S. Navy Choral Award, while McLean Casey was honored with the National Choral Award, and Brad Heinrichs was presented the Iowa Choral Directors Association Award. Heinrichs was also named the Fine Arts Wall of Fame selection for 2017.