1998-99 Wrestling Reunion – Jan. 3, 2019

The Athletic Department is hosting a Reunion for members of the 1998 and 1999 State Championship Wrestling teams on Thursday, Jan. 3 during the home wrestling meet vs. North Scott. The meet begins at 6 p.m. and the 1998 and 1999 teams will be introduced prior to the varsity meet which should begin around 7 p.m. Following the meet, there will be a social event at Rookies.

The 1998 and 1999 Assumption Wrestling Teams had a combined record of 64-0 and were the back to back Iowa Class 2A State Individual and Dual Champions! The team also won the 1998 AAU Disney Duals and were Ranked #1 in the USA at the time.

Winter Sports Pictures – Dec. 3

Winter Sports Pictures will be taken on Monday, Dec. 3, after school in the Main Gym. Athletes competing in basketball, wrestling, and cheerleading will have the opportunity to purchase individual and team portraits from HR Imaging, and Booster Buttons from the Booster Club. Links to forms are below:
Individual and Team Portrait Order Form
Booster Button Order Form
HR Imaging also offers online ordering at: https://www.hrimaging.com/#shop.

Annual Iowa vs Illinois Sr. All Star Volleyball Event – November 19th

Our own Lea Nelson, Emma Vanseveren, and Carly King will be competing in the 4th Annual Iowa vs Illinois Sr All Star Volleyball Event Monday, November 19th, 2018 at St. Ambrose University Lee Lohman Arena.  Warm-ups start at 7:00 PM with the match beginning at 7:30 PM.  Congratulations!!!!

One of the best ways to motivate our youth to work hard is to have them watch the best.  To do our part to help youth sports in the QCA we are extending a special $1 entry to all 8th grade and under kids for the Iowa vs Illinois Sr. All Star Volleyball Event on Monday night.

Let’s pack the house and show our Sr. All Star athletes we appreciate their hard work and dedication.

Here are the details:

Iowa vs Illinois Sr. All Star Volleyball Match

Monday, November 19th, 2018

St Ambrose University Lee Lohman Arena

7:00 PM

Miss Nelson is Missing: Children’s Show & Theater Workshop!

Save the date for the Assumption Knight Players performance of Miss Nelson is Missing! Performances are Friday, December 7th at 6:00 p.m. and Saturday, December 8th at 2:00 p.m.

First through sixth grade students are also invited to join us for a behind the scenes theater adventure from 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. on Saturday, December 8th! The $25 registration fee includes theater workshops, lunch, a Miss Nelson is Missing T-shirt, and admission to our Saturday performance. Click here for the registration form! (To receive a T-shirt, registrations are due by Friday, November 30th.)

2018 National Signing Day – Nov. 14

Assumption will hold a National Signing Day Ceremony for seven senior student-athletes on Wednesday, Nov. 14, at 2:30 p.m. in the Main Gym.

  • Julien Broderson (Iowa State), a two-time Iowa Class 2A State wrestling champion, has committed to the Cyclones wrestling program at Iowa State University in Ames.
  • Nick Gottilla (Central Florida), a 2018 Class 3A First Team All-State (IPSWA) player for the 2018 Iowa Class 3A State Champions, will take his baseball talents to the University of Central Florida in Orlando, Florida.
  • Lauren Herrig (Illinois State), a 2018 Second Team all-conference selection and starting defender for the 2018 Iowa Class 3A State Champions, she will continue her soccer career at Illinois State in Bloomington.
  • Carly King (Duke), the 2018 Iowa Class 3A State Champion in the 400 M Dash and 2018 Drake Relays 100 M Dash winner, will join the Duke University track and field program in Durham, North Carolina.
  • Allison Timmons (Iowa), a 2018 First Team All-MAC pick and starting pitcher for the 2018 Iowa Class 3A State Champions, has committed to the Hawkeyes softball program at the University of Iowa in Iowa City.
  • Emma VanSeveren (Holy Cross), the 2018 First Team All-Mississippi Athletic Conference libero for the 2018 Iowa Class 3A State qualifying Knights, will join the Crusaders volleyball program at The College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts.
  • Nicole Yoder – Iowa (Softball), a 2018 Second Team All-MAC honoree and starting shortstop for the 2018 Iowa Class 3A State Champions, has committed to the Hawkeyes softball program at the University of Iowa in Iowa City.